Mondo’s ‘The Suicide Squad-Original Motion Picture Soundtrack’ LP Record Coming in September

Mondo Music is commemorating James Gunn’s latest superhero hit with a limited edition album, featuring new artwork and a Starro-inspired purple vinyl design.

The album (according to Gunn) consists of another “curated mix tape” featuring an eclectic mix of country, punk, rap, samba, rock, and swing, along with a few new tracks recorded exclusively for the film.

Based on his work, it is no surprise that Gunn knows the importance of a memorable soundtrack, saying that “A movie to me is two things. Picture and sound. It’s how you put those two things together that help tell a story and hopefully move an audience. So, music is incredibly important!” 

The “mix-tape” includes:


1. “Folsom Prison Blues (Live at Folsom State Prison, Folsom, CA – January 1968)” – Johnny Cash

2. “People Who Died” – The Jim Carroll Band

3. “Sucker’s Prayer” – The Decemberists

4. “Samba Na Sola” – Céu

5. “Whistle For The Choir” – The Fratellis

6. “Point of Know Return” – Kansas

7. “Sola” – Jessie Reyez

8. “Just A Gigolo / I Ain’t Got Nobody (And Nobody Cares For Me) – Medley” – Louis Prima


1. “Can’t Sleep” – K.Flay

2. “Quem Tem Joga (feat. Gloria Groove & Karol Conka)” – Drik Barbosa

3. “Rain” – grandson & Jessie Reyez

4. “Hey” – Pixies

5. “So Busted” – Culture Abuse

6. “Oh No!!!” – grandson

The Suicide Squad-Original Motion Picture Soundtrack LP (which retails for $25.00) is currently available for pre-order in Starfish or black vinyl and will be released in September.

Take a look at the preview below and also be sure to check out our interview with former Peacemaker writer Paul Kupperberg to learn more about the unhinged character from Gunn’s film.

Leave a Reply