New ‘Birds of Prey’ Series by Kelly Thompson and Leonardo Romero Joins ‘Dawn of DC’ Line-Up

DC’s new ongoing comic book series Birds of Prey debuts in September with an all-star creative team and an eclectic line-up of heroes.

Kelly Thompson, Leonardo Romero, Jordie Bellaire, and Clayton Cowles will lead Black Canary, Cassandra Cain, Big Barda, Zealot, and Harley Quinn into the new Dawn of DC and a first time mission for the new group.

Thompson called the opportunity to write Birds of Prey “a dream come true” and said “Leonardo Romero and Jordie Bellaire were two of my first partners-in-crime making superhero books and I’ve been trying to make this happen ever since. It won’t surprise anyone to learn that Leonardo and Jordie are even better than they were the last time we worked together—and working together on this wild book is pure magic.”

Romero (who last teamed with Thompson on Hawkeye) said “I couldn’t be happier to announce my first monthly project for DC! With this book, I’ve had the opportunity to not only draw some of the most badass women in the DC Universe, but also to work once more with the best people in our industry, Kelly Thompson and Jordie Bellaire.”

Birds of Prey #1 will be available at local comic shops on September 5 with a main cover by Romero, variant covers by Stanley “Artgerm” Lau and Chris Bachalo, a 1:25 variant by Nick Bradshaw, a 1:50 variant by Chris Bachalo, a 1:100 variant by Romero, and a gatefold variant cover by Frank Cho, and a blank sketch cover for convention season.

Check out Romero’s cover below and stay tuned to Conskipper for all of your DC Comic news.

Leave a Reply